LIVING AND LOVING…

Trying to figure out where to go from here…

The Space Time Tour…

Posted by trixie on March 26, 2009

tradepaperback-cover1

A few weeks ago, I was approached by DJ Kirkby to see if I was interested in joining the ‘Blog Tour’ to celebrate Sue Guiney‘s release of her book ‘Tangled Roots’ being released in paperback.  I had enjoyed DJ and her partner Chopper books so much, I thought ..Why not? It’s good to support other bloggers with their book launch. I have a lot of respect for people who can write novels…the imagination some authors have!  Plus I’ve never been much of a reader, just kept to the main stream popular authors, and probably only read maybe four books a year.  I’ve decided this is the year to broaden my horizons with literature and have enjoyed what I’ve read so far.

Sue’s first book is really two stories in one…of a mother (Grace) and her son (John).  Both stories are told in different times, but as you read you realise it’s the same story just told by different angles. I love how Sue can tell the story with a male view and a female view, as some writers wouldn’t know how to tell a story as a different sex.   I haven’t had the chance to finish reading the book before posting this, as ‘time’ has been slipping away from me…but what I can definitely tell you…is you can’t speed read this book.  Because something happens that totally gets you enthralled…and you have to re-read to make sure you get the full effect of what you just read.  And that is a sign of a good book!

Like me, you may not have heard of Sue Guiney before, and my be interested in ‘what makes her tick’, so I asked Sue these questions…

Describe yourself in four words

creative, open-hearted, intense, short

What’s your biggest extravagance?

An assistant who works for me about 10 hours a week to make sure I do the scary stuff, like sending out submissions, writing query letters, etc

Are you a conformist or a rebel?

Definitely a rebel.  I look pretty normal from the outside, but I have a rather alarming subversive streak in me.

I you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

I’ll say my impatience with myself (although the truer answer is probably my height).

What’s your biggest vice?

I wish I wasn’t quite so judgemental (is that a vice?). I try hard not to be but it’s a nasty impulse that creeps in from time to time.

When was the last time you got really angry?

About 3 months ago…but I won’t tell you why :-)

Are you an introvert or an extrovert?

An introvert by nature, but I push myself.

What’s the best advice you’ve been given?

Have faith in the future.

If you could nominate an eight deadly sin what would it be?

Prejudice

Do you believe in soul mates?

Yes

If you could come back in another life, would you came back as a man or a woman?

A woman – having spent my youth as a “tom boy” I’d like to give it another go. Maybe I’ll do it  better next time.

Thank you soooo much for answering these questions Sue, and I wish you ALL the luck in the world with your novel, which I am thoroughly enjoying and would recommend to other bloggers for a good read!

You can purchase the book from Amazon.

Oh and blogpals out there?  I’d be interested in what makes YOU tick as well…so I would love it if you answered these questions as well! (either in comment or in a post)

Right…I’m off to find out how Grace coped after her daughter’s plane crashed….

7 Responses to “The Space Time Tour…”

  1. kahless said

    Describe yourself in four words: loyal, caring, thoughtful, smart (lol!)

    What’s your biggest extravagance?

    I can buy myself gadgets and then never use them.

    Are you a conformist or a rebel?

    A comformist by nature but a rebel in my heart. ie I dream of rebelling then do the conformist thing!

    I you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

    I would stop a particular OCD habit of mine.

    What’s your biggest vice?

    Smoking I guess.

    When was the last time you got really angry?

    A couple of weeks ago, with Mrs K.

    Are you an introvert or an extrovert?

    An introvert, though at work I adapt to an extrovert.

    What’s the best advice you’ve been given?

    I am not sure. I guess maybe that it is Ok on what decision I make when given a choice, as long as I think through all the possible answers and outcomes.

    If you could nominate an eight deadly sin what would it be?

    Prejudice

    Do you believe in soul mates?

    Yes

    If you could come back in another life, would you came back as a man or a woman?

    A woman. I like it that I am a woman.

  2. Daryl said

    I am going to my replies as blog post .. this weekend, I will link back to you .. this book sounds so good .. thanks for the recco and the inspiration for the post! xo

  3. I have something for you……. Visit my blog and find out what.

    Tee

  4. Great interview, Sue and Trixie, very intriguing! And very nice to find your blog!

  5. kate beswick said

    brilliant interview – great questions, stimulating and intelligent answers –

  6. DJ Kirkby said

    Wow those are great questions and answers. I learnt stuff about my blog buddies that I didn’t know. I am rushing to work at the moment but will come back and give my own answers at some point. xo

  7. I loved this sneak peak into Sue’s life and world. Now I just have to ask Sue – “how tall (or not) are you?!”

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

